Dancing Therapy

Dance with me,

When times are tough,

When hope doesn’t ever seem enough,

Spin me around in the rain,

Dance with me when my heart is in pain.

To the sound of the guitar,

To the beat of the drum,

Hold me by my waist

Make my feet go numb.

Remember the way,

We grooved through the nights?

You kept every promise you made,

Between the smoke, under the lights.

You held my spirit above your own,

every sacred copa, every hammerlock,

Salsa or bachata,

We fell in love without the small talk.

Dance happened to be our only saving grace,

When you’d trace your fingers down my spine,

The mob screamed, the music consumed,

They wanted us to dance one more time.

Through the quarrels, and the rain,

Through the fights, and the pain,

Dance, the only form of art,

That kept this love from falling apart.

You knew my moves like the back of your hand,

You studied my body, every curve every strand,

So dance with me,

When times are tough,

When hope doesn’t ever seem enough,

Spin me around in the rain,

Dance with me when my heart is in pain.

Leave a Reply

